ARIZONA CODE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION
Part 6: Probation
Chapter 2: Adult Services
Section 6-211: Intercounty Courtesy Transfers

A. Definitions.

“Absconder” means a probationer who has moved from the primary place of residence
without permission of the probation officer or whose whereabouts are unknown.

“Administrative director” means both the administrative director of the Administrative Office
of the Courts (AOC) and the director’s designee.

“Court” means the superior court.

“Department” means the superior court adult probation department in each county.

“Family” means parents, grandparents, adult children, adult siblings, legal spouse, legal
guardian, domestic partner, aunt, uncle, parents-in-law or stepparent of the probationer who
is willing and able to assist and support the probationer and who has resided in the receiving

county for at least 180 days at the time of transfer.

“Intercounty courtesy transfer” means the transfer of a probationer’s supervision from one
Arizona county probation department to another Arizona county probation department.

“Notify” means written communication by mail, fax or email.
“Probationer” means an individual placed on supervised probation by the Superior Court of
Arizona for a violation of any criminal offense or by a limited jurisdiction court and placed

on supervised probation with superior court.

“Receiving county” means the county in which the transferred probationer relocated for
courtesy supervision.

“Receiving department” means the department in the county wherein the probationer
relocated or is requesting to relocate.

“Reporting Instructions” means the temporary permission provided to a probationer to
proceed to and remain in receiving county during the investigation of a transfer request.

“Resident” means a probationer who has resided in the receiving county for at least 180 days
at the time of sentencing.



“Residential treatment” means any type of licensed treatment or counseling where the
probationer resides at the facility. Halfway houses are not considered residential treatment.

“Sending county” means the county where the probationer was convicted and placed on
probation supervision.

“Sending department” means the department in the county where the probationer was
convicted and placed on probation supervision.

“Transferred probationer” means a probationer whose probation supervision has been
accepted by another Arizona county probation department for intercounty courtesy
supervision.

“Verifiable offer of employment” means acceptable employment, considering the conditions
of probation and the nature of the offense, that is confirmed either by a current pay stub or
written, telephonic or personal contact with the prospective employer.

B. Applicability. Article VI, Section 3 of the Arizona Constitution, A.R.S. § 12-254 and A.R.S.
§ 13-901, authorizes the Supreme Court to establish guidelines to govern the supervision of
adult probationers.

C. Purpose. To provide uniform guidelines for the intercounty courtesy transfer and
supervision of adult probationers within Arizona and ensure continuity of supervision to
provide the probationer the best opportunity for positive behavioral change.

D. General Administration.

1. The AOC shall:

a. Prepare written material setting forth various techniques, practices, guidelines and
other recommendations regarding the intercounty courtesy transfer of adult
probationers;

b. Conduct educational sessions regarding intercounty courtesy transfers;

c. Provide general assistance to departments on intercounty courtesy transfers; and

d. Adopt other administrative practices and procedures, consistent with this section, as
necessary for the expedient administration of intercounty courtesy transfers.

2. Each department shall designate one or more liaisons to oversee intercounty courtesy
transfer matters. The liaison shall:



Coordinate all incoming and outgoing transfers from the time of the request for
transfer or reporting instructions until acceptance or rejection;

Monitor departmental compliance with this section;
Resolve all compliance issues in a timely manner; and

Notify the chief probation officer or designee immediately of all unresolved
compliance issues for dispute resolution.

3. Each department shall provide ongoing training for all department staff involved in
intercounty courtesy transfers.

4. Both departments involved in the intercounty courtesy transfer of a probationer shall
submit supervision data electronically within the Adult Probation Enterprise Tracking
System (APETS).

5. Each department shall comply with all confidentiality provisions adopted by the supreme
court.

6. The department shall consider the possibility of a transfer of jurisdiction under Rule
27.2.b for those probationers who have residency in the receiving county.

E. Transfer Request Eligibility Requirements.

1. A department shall accept a probationer who intends to reside in the county for a
minimum of 120 days and who:

a.

b.

C.

Is a resident in the county; or

Has family residing within the county and has demonstrated positive behavioral
change; or

Has a verifiable offer of employment.

2. A department may accept a probationer who:

a.

Intends to reside in the county for a minimum of 120 days and does not meet
eligibility requirements in subsection E(1) but whose transfer will assist in the
probationer’s positive behavioral change and is in the best interest of public safety; or

Intends to reside in a residential treatment facility in the county for a minimum 120
days. If the intended stay in a residential treatment facility is less than 120 days, an



3.

agreement to provide supervision may be arranged by the liaisons from the counties
involved in the intercounty courtesy transfer; or

c. Intends to reside in the county for a minimum of 120 days and participate in any
program that the receiving county allows offenders from their jurisdiction to attend.

A department shall not accept a new transfer request for a_probationer who:

a. Has not been sentenced to supervised adult probation;

b. Is subject to pending probation violation proceedings; or

c. Does not intend to reside in the county for a minimum of 120 days, unless qualified

under subsection E(2)(b)(c). These cases shall be handled pursuant to the
department’s policies and procedures for temporary travel.

F. Financial Requirements.

1.

All transferred probationers shall continue to remit payment for court-ordered
assessments to the clerk of the superior court in the county where the probationer was
sentenced, pursuant to departmental policies and procedures.

All transferred probationers on intensive probation supervision (IPS) shall surrender their
paychecks for payment of court-ordered assessments pursuant to the departmental
policies and procedures of the sending and receiving departments.

The sending department shall suspend the probation service fee assessment of a
transferred probationer if the probationer has also been sentenced to probation and
ordered to pay a probation service fee assessment in the receiving county.

The department having responsibility over the first conviction shall collect the probation
service fee assessment if the transferred probationer has been placed on supervised
probation with two or more departments and does not reside in the jurisdiction of any of
the departments.

A judge from the sending county may assess a probationer who requests a transfer
additional amounts monthly as part of the probation service fees charged pursuant to
AR.S. § 13-901(A), following due consideration of the probationer’s ability to pay the
increased fee.

Departments shall establish written policies and procedures regarding the assessment of
any additional probation service fee for each transfer request.



G. Investigation Procedures for Intercounty Courtesy Transfer Requests.

1. Prior to requesting intercounty courtesy transfer of supervision and authorization for the
probationer to relocate, each sending department shall:

a.

b.

Ensure the probationer meets eligibility requirements; and

Obtain the prospective residence mailing address, and, if applicable, a contact phone
number, a map to the residence and employment of the probationer; and

Complete an intercounty courtesy transfer request packet and forward it to the
receiving department.

2. Each intercounty courtesy transfer request shall include:

a.

Copies of:

(1) Intercounty Courtesy Transfer Request;

(2) Intercounty Courtesy Transfer Agreement;

(3) The sentencing court order;

(4) Signed conditions of probation;

(5) Pre-sentence Investigation (PSI). If the PSI has been waived by the court, the
police report and criminal history shall be included;

(6) Photograph;

(7) Psychological or medical reports with all pertinent releases of information, if
applicable; and

(8) Any assessments or evaluations not available in the electronic case record.

Each intercounty courtesy transfer request packet shall include the following in
APETS:

(1) A case note that includes a status of all conditions of probation, if applicable, to
include information about any outstanding warrants

(2) Current risk and needs assessment, if applicable;

(3) Drug, alcohol and sex offender screening instruments, if applicable and available;

(4) DNA collection verification, if applicable;

3. The receiving department shall begin the investigation and contact the liaison in the
sending department to request any documentation missing from the intercounty courtesy
transfer request or the electronic record of the case. The sending department shall
provide the missing information in a timely manner to facilitate the transfer and reply
from the receiving department.



The receiving department shall conduct an investigation and submit a written reply via
email to the sending department within 30 days of receipt of an intercounty courtesy
transfer request. The investigation shall follow departmental policies and procedures and
at a minimum include:

a. Verbal or written confirmation from any other adults living at the proposed residence
that they are willing to have the probationer reside at that location and understand all
of the court imposed conditions; and

b. An initial verification of the proposed residence; and

c. Verification, either personal, written or telephonic, of the proposed employment or
plan to secure employment including business name, address, telephone number,
probationer's work hours, wages, and supervisor.

The reply shall include the following:

a. Whether the request is approved or denied. If denied, include reasons for the denial;
and

b. Notification of any court-ordered conditions of probation that cannot be met.

The reply to an intercounty courtesy transfer request that has been approved shall also
include:

a. Name, county, email address and telephone number of the assigned supervising
probation officer;

b. The conditions of probation under which the transferred probationer will be
supervised, including any special supervision requirements; and

c. Instructions to the transferred probationer for reporting, if not previously provided.
Supervision:

a. For a probationer who has arrived and reported in the receiving county under
approved reporting instructions, the receiving department shall be responsible for
conducting contacts in accordance with their department’s case management
standards and the Arizona Code of Judicial Administration.

b. The receiving department shall immediately begin active supervision of the
transferred probationer once the intercounty courtesy transfer request is approved and
once the offender reports to the receiving county.
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c. Supervision shall continue until maximum expiration, until notification of early
termination, or until the receiving department returns the transferred probationer
pursuant to subsection L(2)(c).

If the intercounty courtesy transfer request is denied and the probationer has already
reported on approved reporting instructions the sending department shall provide
reporting instructions to the receiving department within 5 business days from the receipt
of the denial. If the probationer is on IPS, the reporting instructions shall be provided
within 2 business days from the receipt of the denial.

If the probationer does not relocate within 30 days after the intercounty courtesy transfer
request is approved, the receiving department shall immediately notify the liaison in the
sending department to determine the status of the probationer. The receiving department
shall immediately notify the liaison in the sending department if the probationer is on IPS
and has not relocated within 72 hours.

H. Reporting Instructions.

1.

For standard probationers who are living in the receiving county at the time of
sentencing, the sending department shall request reporting instructions and the receiving
department shall provide them within two business days of receipt of the request. The
standard probationer may proceed prior to the receipt of the reporting instructions.

For probationers on intensive probation supervision and who are living in the receiving
county at the time of sentencing, the sending department shall request reporting
instructions and the receiving department shall provide them within one business day of
receipt of the request. To allow for a residence verification, the intensive supervision
probationer shall not proceed until reporting instructions are approved and received.

For probationers required to register as a sex offender or subject to sex offender
conditions and who were living in the receiving county at the time of sentencing, they
shall not proceed until reporting instructions are requested and approved by the receiving
department. The receiving department shall provide the reporting instructions within two
business days from receipt of the request.

For probationers not residing in the receiving county at the time of sentencing, a sending
department may request reporting instructions and the receiving department shall respond
within five business days from receipt of the request.

For probationers under interstate compact supervision, the sending department shall
request and receive reporting instructions from the receiving department prior to allowing
the probationer to proceed to the receiving county. The receiving department shall
respond within five business days from receipt of the request.



6. The process for requesting reporting instructions is as follows:

a.

The sending department shall contact the liaison in the receiving department to
request reporting instructions via the approved form. The sending department shall
then provide the reporting instructions to the probationer if the reporting instructions
are approved by the receiving department.

The sending department shall forward a copy of the probation conditions to the
receiving department within one business day when reporting instructions are
approved.

The sending department shall forward if available a copy of the pre-sentence report or
police report to the receiving department within one business day when reporting
instructions are approved for all probationers on intensive probation supervision and
probationers required to register as a sex offender or subject to sex offender
conditions.

The sending department shall submit the intercounty courtesy transfer request packet
to the receiving department within fifteen business days of receipt of approved
reporting instructions.

The receiving department shall require the probationer to comply with the reporting
instructions until the investigation is complete.

The receiving department shall immediately notify the liaison in the sending
department to determine the status of the probationer if the probationer fails to
comply with the reporting instructions and is unable to be contacted or located.

The receiving department liaison shall obtain the probationer’s name, date of birth,
county of conviction, and the name, email address and telephone number of the
probation officer if the receiving department is contacted by a probationer who did
not receive reporting instructions.  The receiving department liaison shall
immediately contact the liaison in the sending department to discuss the matter.

I. Standards of Supervision.

1. Each receiving department shall supervise a transferred probationer as they would a
probationer sentenced in their county for the same offense and in accordance with
departmental policies and procedures and applicable sections of this code.

2.

The receiving department shall comply with any special supervision requirements
requested, provided that the receiving department uses the supervision technique or
program for their own probationers. The receiving department shall notify the sending
department of any supervision requirements which cannot be met. The sending



department shall be responsible for either a modification of probation at the time of
transfer or probation termination, or retaining the case until the condition has been
satisfied.

3. The receiving department shall forward to the sending department all requests to change
the level of supervision on a transferred probationer on intensive probation supervision
for determination.

4. The receiving department shall only issue an out-of-state travel permit for a transferred
probationer if approved by both departments.

5. AR.S. §13-3822 (A) provides:

Within seventy-two hours, excluding weekends and legal holidays,
after moving from the person's residence within a county or after
changing the person's name, a person who is required to register under
this article shall inform the sheriff in person and in writing of the
person's new residence, address or new name. If the person moves to a
location that is not a residence and the person receives mail anywhere,
including a post office box, the person shall notify the sheriff of the
person's address. If the person does not have an address or a permanent
place of residence, the person shall register as a transient not less than
every ninety days with the sheriff in whose jurisdiction the transient is
physically present. Within three days after receipt of such information,
the sheriff shall forward it to the department of public safety and the
chief of police, if any, of the place from which the person moves, and
shall forward a copy of the statement, fingerprints and photograph of
the person to the chief of police, if any, of the place to which the
person has moved.

6. A.R.S. §13-3822 (B) provides:

Within seventy-two hours after a person moves from a county in
which the person is registered, the person shall notify in writing the
sheriff of the county from which the person moves. If the person is
subject to community notification requirements, the sheriff of the
county from which the person moves shall advise the local law
enforcement agency of the county to which the person moves of the
move....

7. Each department shall comply with all provisions of the Victims’ Bill of Rights.

8. The sending department determines the length of supervision.



J. Transfer of Supervision to a Second Department.

1.

The receiving department shall assist with a second intercounty courtesy transfer request
if the sending and receiving departments grant permission for a transferred probationer to
relocate a second time. The original receiving department shall continue to supervise the
transferred probationer until the second intercounty transfer request is approved.

The receiving department shall not grant permission for the transferred probationer to
relocate a second time until the second intercounty transfer request is approved or
reporting instructions are provided.

Each department involved in the transfer of supervision to a second department shall
comply with all provisions set forth in this code.

K. Requests for Return to Sending Department.

1.

Prior to allowing the transferred probationer to proceed to the sending county, the
receiving department shall contact the sending department to provide the proposed
address, telephone number and obtain reporting instructions before allowing the
probationer to proceed back to the originating county.

The sending department shall approve reporting instructions within two business days.

The receiving department shall provide written reporting instructions to the transferred
probationer.

L. Probation Violation Procedures.

1.

Each department shall comply with departmental policies and procedures and applicable
sections of this code governing all facets of probation violation procedures.

Violation Procedures for Non-Absconders:

a. The receiving department shall immediately notify the sending department of all
alleged violations of the conditions of probation that would result in the request of a
petition to revoke in the receiving county. Notification shall be via fax, mail or email
and shall include all documentation requested by the sending department.

b. The sending department shall respond to the notification of alleged violation(s) via
fax, mail or email within 5 working days of receipt of the notification. The response
shall include the sending department’s decision regarding action to be taken.

c. When the receiving department recommends revocation of a transferred probationer
based on evidence that would result in the revocation of a probationer sentenced in
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the receiving county, and the sending department refuses to take any action, then
following advance written notification of the intent to return the transferred
probationer to the sending county, the receiving department may direct the transferred
probationer to return and report to the sending county probation officer of record.

The receiving department shall continue to supervise the transferred probationer
during any probation revocation process until the court disposes of the petition to
revoke or the transferred probationer is returned to the sending county.

3. Violation Procedures for Absconders. The receiving department shall notify the sending
department via fax, mail or email that the transferred probationer has absconded. Each
department shall comply with departmental policies and procedures and applicable
sections of this code concerning absconders.

M. Closing Supervision.

1. Receiving departments shall close supervision under the following conditions:

a.

b.

Notification of revocation resulting in termination of probation;
Notification of termination or expiration of the probation grant by the court;

The transferred probationer has been approved and relocated to another county or
another state;

After notification to the sending county that the transferred probationer has
absconded,;

The sending department directs the return of the transferred probationer; or

Notification of the death of the transferred probationer. The receiving department
shall forward verification of death to the sending department.

2. If the transferred probationer has reached the maximum discharge date and if permission
to close supervision is not granted by the sending department, the receiving department
shall close supervision and notify the sending department.

Adopted by Administrative Order No. 2004-02 effective January 7, 2004. Amended by
Administrative Order 2009-116, effective November 10, 2009. Amended by Administrative
Order 2012-61, effective July 31, 2012.
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