
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A CIVIL DEFAULT JUDGMENT 

 

1. You may apply for default judgment if: 

 Affidavit of Service has been filed with the court 

 Defendant(s) has not filed an answer within 20 days after defendant was served/30 days if 

served out of state. 

 

2. If you have brought your claim against multiple defendants, the default applies only to those defendants 

who have been properly served and who have failed to file an answer within 20 days after service/30 

days if served out of state. 

 

3. In order to proceed with a default, you must complete and file the “Application for Entry of Default”. 

 

4. If your “Application for Entry of Default” indicates that the defendant(s) you want to default is in the 

military service, or if it cannot be determined if the defendant(s) is in the military service, this may 

impact whether the court will enter a default judgment.  See the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 

United States Code §521 and related sections. 

 

5. You must mail a copy of the Application for Entry of Default (by regular U.S. mail) to each defendant 

who you are seeking to default, and the defendant’s attorney, if any.  You must also mail the Application 

to the other parties in the lawsuit.  

 

6. If the defendant(s) files an answer within ten business days of the filing date of the “Application for 

Entry of Default”, the default will not become effective.  The case will proceed as if the answer had 

been timely filed. The ten (10) day period begins the day after the application is filed with the court; the 

ten (10) day period does not include Saturdays, Sundays, or holidays, and no additional time is added for 

service by mail. 

 

7. If the defendant(s) does not file an answer within ten days of the filing date of the “Application for Entry 

of Default”, the default becomes effective. 

 

8. You may use one of two ways to request the court to enter a default judgment after the default becomes 

effective.  If your claim is for a specific amount, or if your claim is for an amount that can be determined 

by a mathematical calculation, you may request the entry of default judgment without a hearing.  You 

must attach to your request for entry of default judgment without a hearing, a supporting affidavit 

concerning the claimed amount, and attachments that prove the amount of the claim.  If your claim is not 

for a specific amount or an amount that can be determined by a mathematical calculation, you may file a 

request that the court set a default hearing to determine the terms of the judgment.  You must present 

evidence at a default hearing to prove the amount of your claim. 

 

9. Your request for entry of default judgment without a hearing, or your request that the court set a default 

hearing, must be mailed to the party who is in default and to the party’s attorney, if any, and to the other 

parties in the case.  

 

10. A copy of any judgment or notice of hearing will be mailed to all parties by the court. 

 

Note: The information in this checklist is only a summary.  It is not intended to be a complete list 

of the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. 
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