Arizona Judicial Branch

Court Reporter Certification Program

Effective January 1, 2003, all court reporters in Arizona are subject to certification and must have Standard Certification or Provisional Standard Certification.

The Court Reporter Standard Certification Program provides statewide certification for persons in Arizona who are qualified to be certified.  Code Section 7-206 governs court reporter standard certification and applies to any person who records and transcribes a verbatim record in any sworn proceeding by means of written symbols or abbreviations in shorthand or machine writing in Arizona pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 40.

The reporter's transcript is an important document before, during, and after the trial. The paper transcript and its electronic version are used for trial preparation, briefs, impeachment purposes, and appellate review. Property, freedom, and life all can depend on a clear and accurate record. Court reporting is integrally related to the prompt, effective, and impartial operation of the judicial system.



DECEMBER 29, 2015

(You cannot renew prior to this date)


You can apply and pay online for your Certified Reporter Renewal Application using your check debit or credit card.  To do so, please visit our Application Portal at: on or after December 29th.  Renewal fee for the two year certification period is $400.00, till January 31, 2016, $450 after January 31, 2016.


In order to access the online Renewal Application, you will need:

<                 Your Reporter Certification Number, 

<                 Your email address of record with the Division, and

<                 Your date of birth on record with the Division


If you do not have an email address on file with the Division, or your email address has changed, you need to update your email address no later than January 4, 2016.  Click Here to download the renewal application and mail it to the Certification and Licensing Division if you do not wish to apply for renewal and pay online.  Applicants who submit their application after February 28, 2016, will be required to retake the examination and submit an initial application.


           Code Revision Update

The attached Administrative Order and ACJA § 7-206 code revisions were filed May 21, 2014.  Please carefully review the document.  The required registration forms will be posted in the near future.

 Click to View

Firm Registration

Pursuant to the Administrative Order No. 2014-51 linked above, as of September 15, 2014, all reporting firms providing services regulated pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-4001 et.seq. or ACJA  § 7-206 must be registered with the Certification and Licensing Division in accordance with the provisions of ACJA § 7-206(N).  The approved registration form is attached.

Reporting Firm Registration Form.  Click Here

As required by ACJA § 7-206, all certified reporters having a relationship with a reporting firm must verify the firm is registered as of September 15, 2014.  A list of registered firms will be posted to the Certified Reporter webpage.



TO:                 Interested Persons

FROM:           Certification and Licensing Division

RE:                 Board of Certified Reporters Member Recruitment

The Arizona Supreme Court is currently seeking interested candidates for appointment to the Board of Certified Reporters.  The Board of Certified Reporters is comprised of nine volunteer members appointed by the Chief Justice for five-year terms.  The Board of Certified Reporters meets every other month to consider and make decisions regarding certification and disciplinary matters involving certified court reporters.  The Board also makes recommendations to the Arizona Supreme Court regarding court reporter issues.  Applications are being sought for the following Board positions:

  • Public Member - Open to candidates that are not a certified reporter or an attorney.
  • Certified Official Reporter Member - Open to a certified court reporter, who is a resident of this state and has been working as an official court reporter for at least five years.
Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Certified Reporter Program by email to  Interested persons may submit a resume and an application form (Click Here)  to: 

Certification and Licensing Division
Attention: Debbie MacDougall
Arizona Supreme Court, Administrative Office of the Courts
1501 West Washington, Suite 104
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
FAX – (602) 452-3958





Interim Meeting - May 24, 2016

10:00 A.M.

This board meeting will be held in:

  Arizona Supreme Court
Hearing Room 109
 1501 West Washington Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

General Inquiries Call: (602) 452-3378
(Certification and Licensing Division Line)

Members of the Public May Attend the Meeting in Person

The Board Meeting Agenda and Material are now available.  Click here.




Program History

  Board Membership List

Court Reporter Directory 

Reporting Firm Directory

  2016 Board Meeting Schedule

Section 7-206

Agendas & Minutes

Section 7-206 (effective 9/15/2014)

Section 7-201





Initial Application 



Written Statement


ACRA CE Opportunities



State Bar Continuing Education





Complaint Form

2016 Registration Examination Schedule    
CR Examination Validation Report  

Change of Contact Information

CR Examination Study Guide


Parking Map

  Certified Reporter Request for Inactive Status Form

If you have any questions, you may email the program at or contact the Certification and Licensing Division at:

Arizona Supreme Court
Certification and Licensing Division
1501 West Washington Street, Suite 104
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
General Inquiries Call: (602) 452-3378