Mode:
 Search 

Azcourts.gov

Arizona Judicial Branch

Child Support Calculator Information

The 2018 Child Support Calculator is an interactive program that will calculate a child support amount based on the Arizona Child Support Guidelines that will become effective April 1, 2018. The 2015, 2017, and 2018 calculators are designed to function with Adobe Acrobat Reader version 10.

DISCLAIMER
The purpose of this calculator is informational and educational only and does not constitute legal advice.  The amount of child support a court will order for any particular case may be different from the amount estimated by the calculator.  The court has the final authority to determine the amount of child support awarded.  The amount yielded by this calculator is only an estimate and is not a guarantee of the amount of child support that will be awarded.

In cases of default, the guidelines in effect at the time of filing the action will be used. The parties may agree to use either the guidelines in effect at the time of filing the action or those in effect at the time the order is entered.

2018 Child Support Calculator: On January 24, 2018, the Supreme Court adopted revisions to the Arizona Child Support Guidelines based in part on recent changes to state law increasing the minimum wage and new federal regulations. No updates or changes were made to the underlying Schedule of Basic Support Obligations. The 2018 child support guidelines will be effective for all child support orders, whether original orders or modifications of previous orders, entered after March 31, 2018, except in cases of default or as otherwise agreed upon by the parties. (Arizona Guidelines and Administrative Order 2018-08). Additional enhancements to the calculator and associated forms are scheduled to be released in mid-May 2018.

2017 Child Support Calculator: Section 15 (Self-Support Reserve Test) of the 2018 Child Support Guidelines, states that the self-support reserve shall be an amount equal to 80% of the monthly full-time earnings at the current state minimum wage at the time of the order. The minimum wage in 2017 was increased to $10 per hour, resulting in a self-support reserve of $1,386. This calculator is intended for minimum wages earned during the time period of January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017, and it reflects a self-support reserve amount of $1,386. No updates or changes were made to the underlying Schedule of Basic Support Obligations since the 2015 child support quadrennial review.

2015 Child Support Calculator: On January 14, 2015, the Supreme Court adopted technical revisions to the Arizona Child Support Guidelines. The newly adopted statewide child support guidelines will be effective July 1, 2015, for all child support orders, whether original orders or modifications of pre-existing orders, entered after June 30, 2015. (Arizona Child Support Guidelines and Administrative Order 2015-06).

After selecting the child support calculator you will use for your child support calculation, gather the information listed below, if applicable to your case.
  • Children’s names and dates of birth.
  • Gross income of both parents.
  • Spousal maintenance paid or received by either parent.
  • Court-ordered child support for children of other relationships.
  • Medical, dental and vision insurance costs for children only.
  • Extra education expenses paid.
  • Extraordinary child expenses paid.
  • Parenting time days per year, if not equal parenting time.
  • Court-ordered arrears paid by the noncustodial parent.
The following agencies provide assistance with child support issues:
A.R.S. § 46-441 states "[p]ayment of any money directly to an obligee or to any person other than the Support Payment Clearinghouse will not be credited against the support obligation, unless the direct payments were ordered by the court or made pursuant to a written support agreement by the parties."
  • Title IV-D cases: If you have a IV-D child support case with the DCSS, please visit www.azdes.gov/dcss. If the DCSS becomes involved with the enforcement of your court ordered support, you will be required to make your payments to the Arizona Centralized State Disbursement Unit (SDU), the Arizona Support Payment Clearinghouse, which is the collection and disbursement unit for processing child support and maintenance payments. Federal law requires each state to operate a SDU.
  • Non IV-D cases: If you have a child support case in the superior court not being enforced by DCSS, contact your local Clerk of the Superior Court, or in Maricopa County, visit Family Support Services.
  • Information about making payments: https://www.azdes.gov/main.aspx?menu=24&id=5365
  • Payment Gateway (Making payments; missing/lost checks sent to the clearinghouse for case enforced by DCSS): https://www.azdes.gov/dcse/statedis.asp
  • Frequently asked questions about Payment Gateway: https://www.azdes.gov/main.aspx?menu=24&id=5131