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Arizona has 2 options for placing a child into a family home 
setting

Community
Foster Care

Kinship
Foster Care

A family who provides care to a child who is a relative or a 
child which they have a “relative” like relationship with. This 
can include teachers, family friends, coaches or clergy.

A family who provides care for a child who they did not 
previously have a strong relationship with



N/A

•Family must meet the standards and 
training of licensure.
•Family agrees to abide by all licensing 
rules. 
•Family works with DCS and a licensing 
agency.

•Family does not have to meet the 
standards of licensing.
•Family works with DCS

•Family must meet the standards and 
training of licensure. 
•Family agrees to abide by all licensing 
rules. 
•Family works with DCS and a licensing 
agency. 

Once children are placed in to unlicensed Kinship homes, 
families can remain unlicensed or become licensed foster 
parents. 

Unlicensed Foster Parent Licensed Foster Parent

Community 
Foster Care

Kinship 
Foster Care



Arizona has significantly increased placing children in 
unlicensed kinship family homes

Nationally 28% of foster children are placed into kinship homes

28%
24%

35%
46%

45%

35%



The majority of kinship families are not yet licensed

Children in Kinship Care

88%

12%

Living in Unlicensed 
Kinship Homes

Living in Licensed 
Kinship Homes

as of June 30, 2014

Lack of awareness is the main reason families 
remain unlicensed.



Unlicensed Families have greater difficulty 
working with the courts and other systems. 

• They are difficult to identify and reach.
• Case management is rare (expensive).
• They lack an understanding of  
expectations and context.
• They lack a community – they are isolated 
and overwhelmed.
• They often lack financial resources.

Daily Cost



Placement decisions have a large financial impact.

Placement cost per child

Daily Cost Yearly Cost

Unlicensed 
Kinship

Licensed Foster 
Care

Congregate Care

$1.51

$21.60

$123.50

$552

$7,884

$45,085



http://www.azfamilyresources.org

Seeing this opportunity . . . AASK set up this bi-lingual website:



Attendance Policy
Margaret A. McCullough and Nina Preston



Attendance Policy (Flagstaff Unified School 
District)
(Policy JE)

Be in school every day. Attendance is the number one school success factor!

FUSD High Schools strictly adhere to Arizona law (ARS-15-901(A)(1): Once a 
student has accrued absences that total 10% of the possible days in the school 
year (more than 18 days if the school year is 180 days), no matter whether the 
absences were excused or unexcused, all subsequent absences must be reported 
as unexcused.  This rule applies across schools within a district if the student 
transfers.
…



Continuation of Flagstaff Unified School 
District Policy

Following are some other reasons that students miss school. These occasions are 
not excusable by a parent or guardian:

Ditching/Truant
Court Dates
Juvenile Detention/Probation
Runaway
…..

Any classroom assignments coming due during a period of unexcused absence will 
be recorded as a zero in the teacher’s record book.



Aug. 19, 2016 – email 
Absence verifications: Site administrations and attendance clerks       

After review the new absence guidelines from the state and reading the student handbook it has 
come to our attention that some interpretation is necessary. ARS 15-901(A)(1) states “The 
Department of Education defines an excused absence as being an absence due to illness, doctor 
appointment, bereavement, family emergencies and out-of-school suspensions.” With that being 
said the secondary student handbook reads… “following are some other reasons that students 
miss school. These occasions are not excusable by a parent or guardian: ditching/truant, court 
dates, juvenile detention/probation or runaway”.
It would be appropriate for the site administration to excuse the court appearance as a family 
emergency.

…

Thank you!
Mary K Walton, M.Ed.
Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction
Flagstaff Unified School District
mwalton@fusd1.org
928-527-6020 

mailto:mwalton@fusd1.org


DOE has been granted authority by A.R.S. §15-901(A)(1) to identify excused 
absences.  [A.R.S. §15-901(A)(1), “excused absences shall be identified by the 
Department of Education…” ]

DOE establishes Guidelines to “inform district schools and charter schools when 
an absence shall be considered excused.”



Excerpts from e-mail dated September, 2016,  
from Lyle Friesen, Deputy Associate 
Superintendent, School Finance
EX-1 was revised too quickly in FY2016, creating certain unintended 
consequences, including not allowing time for LEAs to implement necessary 
changes in their Student Information Systems. 

Superintendent Douglas intends to review and reissue EX-1 with an effective date 
of 7/1/2017 or later.

ADE staff members have met with representatives from school districts and 
charter schools to gain an understanding of LEAs’ concerns regarding EX-1, and 
are currently reviewing the EX-1 guideline in light of these issues.



Continuation of email from Mr. Friesen

ADE plans to revise EX-1 to address these concerns, and will review the new draft 
with LEA representatives. Following these discussions, a new draft EX-1 will be 
presented to Superintendent Douglas for her approval. She intends to decide on a 
course that lessens the administrative burden on LEAs while serving Arizona’s 
students. Please expect a revised version of EX-1 before the end of this year

…

For FY2017, it is a local decision whether the 10% threshold in EX-1 is applied to 
all absences or only out of school suspensions. The FY 2016 revisions of EX-1 are 
currently suspended. Please find the 2009 version of EX-1 on the School Finance 
External Guidance webpage. 



It is extremely important to the judicial branch, specifically the juvenile courts, 
that court appearances constitute an excused absence.  Minors are required to 
make court appearances for a variety of reasons—e.g. child is :

 subject of adoption,          

 witness in a criminal, civil or domestic relations case, 

 subject of a dependency petition, involved in  the juvenile delinquency/ 
probation  system. 



 

 

 

October 5, 2016 
 
Lyle Friesen 
Deputy Associate Superintendent 
School Finance 
1525 W. Jefferson Street 
Phoenix, Arizona 85007 
 
Dear Mr. Friesen: 

The Committee on Juvenile Courts is comprised of Presiding Juvenile Judges from each county in the 
state, representatives of the Arizona Office of the Courts, a representative of the County Directors of 
Juvenile Court services, and members of the public.   

We were recently informed that EX-1, as revised in 2016, is currently suspended and a new draft is 
expected to be approved before the end of this year.  Our understanding is that the suspended 
Guideline excluded “court dates” as an excused absence or could be interpreted as excluding court 
dates as an excused absence.  

We are urging the Department of Education to include “court dates” as an excusable absence. 

Minors are required to make court appearances for a variety of reasons.  A child could be a victim in a 
criminal case and under subpoena requiring an appearance.    A child may be the subject of an adoption 
or want to witness the adoption of a sibling.    A child could be a witness in a criminal, civil or domestic 
relations case.  A child may be a dependent child who has been neglected, abused or abandoned and 
wants to have input on their placement, services or visitation with parents or extended family.  A child 
could be facing delinquent charges or already be on probation and attending review hearings to ensure 
compliance with probation terms and an appearance is required.   

The Arizona Juvenile Court system is actively working to assist a child to become a law abiding, 
productive member of society.  Education and graduation from high school are extremely important 
goals of the Juvenile Court system.   

Therefore, again, we urge the Department of Education to include “court dates” as an excusable 
absence. 

 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

   











Washington Law on Reinstatement of Parental Rights 
 

Permits a child to petition the juvenile court to reinstate previously terminated parental rights if all of the 
following are true:  

• Child was previously found to be dependent  
• Child’s parent’s rights were terminated at least three years prior 
• Child is at least 12 years old and has not achieved or sustained permanency  

Requires clear and convincing evidence that the child has not achieved or sustained permanency, is not 
likely to imminently do so, and that reinstatement is in the child’s best interests.  Outlines factors to 
consider the best interests of the child that include: 

• Whether the parent whose rights are to be reinstated is a fit parent and has remedied his or her 
deficits as provided in the record of the prior termination proceedings and prior termination 
order; 

• the age and maturity of the child, and the ability of the child to express his or her preference; 
• whether the reinstatement of parental rights will present a risk to the child's health, welfare, or 

safety; and 
• other material changes in circumstances, if any, that may have occurred which warrant the 

granting of the petition 

If the court conditionally grants the petition, a temporary order of reinstatement must be entered and 
the case continued for six months. During this time the child shall be placed with the parent and DCS shall 
develop a permanency plan for the child reflecting the reunification and provide transitions services as 
appropriate.  

If the child is removed from the parent due to abuse or neglect during the six month period, the court 
mush dismiss the petition if the allegations are proven by a preponderance of the evidence. If after six 
months the placement with the parent has been successful, the court shall dismiss the dependency and 
enter a final order of reinstatement of parental rights. Retroactive and applicable to any child under the 
jurisdiction of the juvenile court at the time of the hearing. 



2017-08: Permanent Guardianship; procedure 
 

Background:  

 Over the past several years Arizona has seen a high volume of children become the 
subject of dependency petitions following their removal from home by the Department of Child 
Safety. The path to permanency may involve reunification with family or severance followed 
possibly by adoption or permanent guardianship. Currently in Maricopa County, 47% of the 
juvenile court’s work involves voluntary guardianships granted under Title 14 while 40% of the 
cases are dependencies. A dependency may be resolved by reunification, severance of parental 
rights, or a Title 8 guardianship.   

A Title 14 guardianship does not require a dependency adjudication and is considered 
“reversible” since the parent who consents to the guardianship may revoke it at any time; as 
such, DCS is often hesitant to agree to Title 14 guardianships due to the lack of court oversight of 
the case. Title 8 guardianships require an initial dependency finding and court action must be 
taken to reverse this order and return the child. Parents are often hesitant to stipulate to a 
dependency out of fear of being placed on the central registry. 

Solution: 

2017-08 expands the ability of the court to grant a permanent guardianship under Title 8 
prior to an adjudication of dependency and increases safeguards for children by requiring 
background checks for non-relatives seeking permanent guardianship. 

Provisions: 

• Permits the court to establish a permanent guardianship under Title 8 prior to an 
adjudication of dependency for a child who is the subject of a dependency petition. 

• Requires applicants for permanent guardianship submit a valid fingerprint clearance card 
or full set of fingerprints to the court for purposes of obtaining a criminal background 
check. 

• Allows, instead of requires, the court to appoint a permanent guardian nominated by a 
child who is at least twelve years of age. 
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